Welina Mānoa

Parts of the Kalo Plant

For Ka Papa Loʻi ʻo Kānewai, it is also important to recognize the kino of the kalo including, but not limited to the lau (leaf), hā (stalk/stem), huli (cutting to replant), kōhina (top of kalo), kalo (corm), huluhulu (roots), and the ʻohā (keiki). Shown below is a photo of the different parts of the kalo. You may click on the image to see a full preview.

*Image is from the Bishop Museum Website